12 August 2022



PARLIAMENT OF NSW

NSW Parliamentary Executive Group Statement on the Broderick Review

In July 2021, the Presiding Officers, Clerks and Chief Executive Officer (The Parliamentary Executive Group) commissioned an independent review into harmful behaviours including bullying, sexual harassment, and sexual misconduct at NSW Parliament workplaces.

This review was undertaken by the former Sex Discrimination Commissioner Elizabeth Broderick, whom we thank for her diligent and comprehensive work. The review findings have now been published on the Parliament's website. You can access the review <u>here</u>.

We acknowledge all incidents of bullying, sexual harassment, and sexual misconduct in our NSW Parliament and electorate offices and we deeply regret the distress this has caused.

Those who work and visit here are entitled to feel respected and free from harassment. As leaders in this workplace and members of the Parliamentary Executive Group, we are committed to making improvements that will address the matters raised in the report released today.

We aim to ensure that the parliamentary working environment is safe and secure. We will not tolerate harmful and abusive conduct in the workplace. This means having effective complaint handling mechanisms and procedures in place for misconduct to be dealt with promptly and effectively, for incidents to receive an appropriate response, and for individuals to be supported. This work is already underway.

Standards of behaviour and workplace culture are the joint responsibility of parliamentary leaders, political party leaders, office holders, managers and staff. Everybody has a role to play in practising and maintaining the highest standards of workplace behaviour.

We intend to consult with the parliamentary community on the proposals that have been made, and to work collaboratively with you and your representatives on the implementation of an effective action plan in response to the report. Our task now is to work together.

We thank everyone who has come forward to share their experiences and observations. Your important contributions will help to create safe and respectful parliamentary workplaces.

The Hon. Matthew Mason-Cox MLC, President of the Legislative Council The Hon. Jonathan O'Dea MP, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly David Blunt, Clerk of the Parliaments Helen Minnican, Clerk of the Legislative Assembly Mark Webb, Chief Executive, Department of Parliamentary Services